top of page

Emily and Art in the Modern World

What is it to be a visual artist in 2015? How does someone who creates physical art with hand, brush, paint and canvas convey what she's done in a digital world? Why does it matter?

I've never blogged before. Does anyone really want to hear what I have to say? Maybe, maybe not. An attempt to leave something behind when I'm gone, since everything you put online stays there? Maybe.

I love art. I love looking at it and I love creating it. I think art has the potential to keep us human, not just zombies on cell phones. I think art can help us see ourselves in a truthful light, and I think it can show us what is real and important in the world. I want to convey a sense of beauty and love with my art. I want someone who sees my art to feel good, even if it is for a moment. I want them to feel a sense of hope. For me, these are good reasons, important reasons, to create works of art.

When I see other artists' websites and see how they market themselves, I think, "That is so way beyond me. Me, who doesn't have a smart phone and has no real desire to be out there in social media land." But it is the way now. Art work doesn't necessarily stand on its own anymore, assuming you can even get it out there for folks to see. An artist has to market themselves and their work. I suppose it is all in the name of creating a larger audience.

With this blog, I would like to give readers a sense of process (both mental and tactile). I think it is interesting to see what happened along the road of creative expression.

I hope you find my words, processes and work interesting. Here's to entering the modern world.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page